Tags

Blogger Recognition Award

My lovely friend Imogen kindly nominated me to take part in the ‘Blogger Recognition Award’. After a not-so-great September, I’m so appreciative of this, so a huge thank you to her. If you’re not following her already, I’d definitely recommend doing so as she’s honestly so kind and her blog is great.

The ‘rules’ for this post are as follows, but go ahead and check out Imogen’s post here

 

Award rules:

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you.
  • Write a post to show your award.
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started
  • Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers
  • Select 15 other bloggers you want to give this award to
  • Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them and provide the link to the post you create – I will notify the bloggers via Twitter too in case their blog comments are not available.

 

How ‘The Longest Road to Walk’ Started:

First, I started out on a blog called Thirteen Purple Roses, still on WordPress, but not quite as serious. 
   I kept it going for a year or so throughout my A-Level Creative Writing, as a platform on which I could share my pieces from class, as well as other things I had written for fun or specifically for my blog. It was a great way to keep me writing and to write for myself, however, eventually I stopped.

Earlier this year, I decided I’d like to get back into blogging, and make much more of an effort with it – and I’m happy to say I did just that.
   This time round, my blog looks so much better, and I’ve really tried to become a part of the community which I really enjoy. 

I’ve loved writing since I was young, so to be writing again and more regularly, and to be sharing it with an audience is so exciting for me, and it’s definitely helped me fall back in love with writing. 

 

Advice for New Bloggers:

When presented with this question, I always go back to saying the same thing, which is to just have as much fun as you can with blogging. Do it because you love it and enjoy doing it – not because you think it’s a quick or easy way to make money – because it’s not.
Blogging can be hard work! You have to be dedicated and you have to love it, but I’d always tell people to set themselves achievable goals or to not be too hard on themselves when they fall below their own expectations. It happens, we’re all human!

At one time or another, blogging will become overwhelming, or life will become overwhelming, and your blog will have to wait on the sidelines for a while – but let it. If you need a break, take one, and try not to feel guilty about it. 
   Sometimes, you’ll find that taking a break from blogging is just the thing that will set your motivation back to normal and remind you how much you love blogging. Once that motivation and spark is back, you’ll be back on track in no time. 

Finally, engage with as many people as possible! I love the fact that blogging has given me more people to talk to. I talk to people from all corners of the country – and even from different countries. I talk to people who are older than me, younger than me, those who have different interests or experiences…and it’s so interesting and refreshing to have that opportunity – and everyone is so, so kind.

 

My Nominees

 

Of course, you are under no obligation to participate, and apologies if you have already done this / have already been nominated!


Thank you again to Imogen for nominating me – and congratulations to all the other nominees.

blogger-recognition

4 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award”

Leave a comment